Hack Attack

Here are a few hacks/tips our family has found useful that I hope you can put to use in your family.

honey

Well Spring kind-of-sorta sprung, right?  One thing that we always have in our home to prep the kids for the season is Honey.  Not just any old honey though.  Quite a few years back I read that the best honey should come from your area.  Since the farms aren’t quite open yet, I buy local honey right at our grocery store!  It might be in the organic aisle but most stores seem to carry this brand.  It’s fairly simple, I just give the kids a teaspoon in the morning and they are good to go. It helps reduce any symptoms from the pollen and keeps itchy free eyes and minimizes any runny noses.  Our kids take it straight but you can sweeten drinks with it or add it to cereal or yogurt.

vicksThis is one of my favorites!  The kids rarely get ear infections and I love this tip that hubby’s grandma gave me.  As soon as one of them complain of their ear hurting, I grab a cotton ball, add a dab of Vicks Vapor Rub and put it in the ear that hurts.  Most mommas know that this complaint comes mostly in the middle of the night and I would do this treatment and they go right back to sleep. The vapors are soothing and it somehow eases the pain and helps to comfort them.  Morning comes and no complaints.  One restful kiddo and momma!

placemat

If you are like me, cleaning the refrigerator can be a task and a half!  There are so many places food and milk, and juices can easily seep in and no matter how much you scrub, the shelves are sticky and it makes your once sparkling new fridge look old and unkept.  So how did I solve this?  Place mats!  I saw this hack and thought can’t be this easy.  But it was.  I went to Walmart, grabbed a few plastic place mats with a design to match our kitchen, came home, cut them to fit onto the shelves and ta–daaa…if there are spills, wipe it up easily with a sponge, if food falls, I got it! No need to slave over that fridge again! Just take the place mat out when you are ready to really clean your fridge and it’s easy peasy plus adds a little flair when you open that refrigerator door.

  FullSizeRender (7)

It seems most women are going the mineral make-up way and this hack can save you a few bucks. I use Bare Minerals and it does take me a while to finish one but this tip is for when you think your foundation is done.  You tap and tap and nothing comes out so it must be done, right?  Gotta get to the store but wait…

FullSizeRender (5) FullSizeRender (3)

Just flip it over and pop off the back and there you go, you can now get to the remaining powder that couldn’t come out of the tiny holes before.  Now you can put off going to the store for another week or two.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kALOWTIE BEHARRY
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 12:30:57

    Thanks for your healthy tips!!!!Kay

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Rae Singh
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 20:46:17

    I believe Walmart will be out of placemats pretty soon.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Diana Hernandez
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 18:00:15

    oooooo look at you! I will be buying placemats… I cannot stand my fridge. 😛 So you don’t just rub the vicks everywhere? 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Feel free to share your thoughts

The Buzz

  • 5,056 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 190 other followers

Follow h2owalkerlife on WordPress.com
