Making Memories

IMG_9698

This can be one scary sentiment, can’t it? Sometimes we just get way too busy and forget that our every action, words, good or bad deeds are being noticed by these innocent little cuties we have strolling along side us each day.
As I was driving the girls to school today, our eight year old drops the bomb about Santa!  “Mommy” she says, “a boy at school told me that his mommy and daddy buy all the gifts for Christmas.”  My know-it-all four year old perks up immediately and says, “well, I don’t care what he says, I believe in Santa and he’s real!” I teased saying, did he not watch Elf, the movie?  But I carefully proceeded to ask Alyssa, “well what do you believe?” Alyssa is a bit of an over analyzer, like I am, so I wasn’t sure where she would go with this but she says, “I told him, I’m still going to believe.”
It hit me as I pulled into the school parking lot that this may be the last year she believes in Santa and as I looked at her as she climbed out of the car it settled in my spirit–she’s growing up oh so quickly.  I definitely can’t prevent that, and I most certainly wouldn’t want to.  But what are the memories that my girls will tell their children one day?  It’s so difficult at times listening to the endless stories that never quite reach a point or the thousands of random questions from a four year old at 7:30 in the morning, and  my all time favorite–all three of them screaming in the car at the same time trying to get a response from me because it’s the most important thing for them at that time.  Putting all that aside, will I miss that one day? We all want our kids to have fond memories of us, especially ones that they can pass on to their families too.  We all want them to be happy, and healthy.  So while we are so busy working our butts off to provide for them, feed them, clothe them…don’t take for granted spending time with them!  Those special moments will last a lifetime and who better to instill that in them than the one who loves them the most–a mommy!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aunty Indra
    Dec 09, 2015 @ 13:15:47

    I had to laugh when i read this because i had a similar experience when Chrissy was only 3. She asked me how co.e Santa has the same wrapping paper like ours. To avoid another question from her i quickly said that maybe Santa shops at the same store.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Josh
    Dec 09, 2015 @ 12:54:27

    This was a good post—the babies are growing up! 🤔😢

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Christakerry
    Dec 09, 2015 @ 12:48:46

    Interesting thoughts. I wonder what they will take with them. What did you take?

    Like

    Reply

    • sfeliciano74
      Dec 09, 2015 @ 12:56:27

      Christakerry–When I was younger–I remember eating dinner every night together–and literally laughing about the silliest things.
      We now try to sit down and have dinner with all of us at the table. That was something that was definitely passed down from my folks.

      Like

      Reply

Feel free to share your thoughts

The Buzz

  • 5,223 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 194 other followers

Follow h2owalkerlife on WordPress.com
