Little Girl Drama, Big Girl Lesson

Alyssa8
A few weeks ago I found out Alyssa had an altercation on the playground with a close friend of hers that genuinely hurt her feelings greatly. As we drove home from school that day, I listened to her retell the story to me–expressing her feelings of anger, shock, hurt and disappointment. The mama bear in me wanted to take the situation in my own hands and lay into not only this girl but her mother! But I knew deep down a lesson was going to be taught and learned from this squabble. I just didn’t think I was the student!

Of course I quickly encouraged her and reassured her of who she is and how proud her daddy and I were for how she seemingly handled herself. See in the midst of the situation, Alyssa identified the reason (this girl was just trying to impress her other friends), defended herself, confronted the girl (with the help of a teacher) for an explanation and an apology. Then later tells her mother (that’s me) I may not trust her anymore but I forgive her and to top it off when she sees the girl she treats her as though none of this ever occurred! I’d say for a third grader, that’s pretty amazing! Don’t you agree?

I don’t know about you guys but I know grown adults who can’t go through this process so quickly–I can easily be one of them at times, if I don’t check myself.

I do understand little girl drama is just that–drama! But some big girls don’t necessarily learn from those little girl dramas we tend to go through in childhood.  Sometimes we easily carry them into adulthood.

Lesson learned:
–assess the real issue
–stay true to yourself/your beliefs
forgive and forget
move on (don’t carry someone else’s issue as your own)
–“Bad company corrupts good character” (1Cor. 15:33)

A good reminder even if it’s from an 8 year old–little girl drama! 💕

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay Beharry
    Feb 04, 2016 @ 21:08:52

    I am really proud of you Alyssa, I guess the one word, ‘peace’ that your mom took for this year is rubbing off on you. Keep up the good work!
    Love you
    Aunty Kay

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Aunty Inra
    Feb 03, 2016 @ 20:02:44

    Now who’s bothering my favourite girl?? You are sooo precious and will always shine no matter what you are faced with daily. Keep on being the good girl you are.
    Your Aunty Inra.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Diana Hernandez
    Feb 02, 2016 @ 16:34:05

    That is extremely amazing and very impressive! To not only forgive, but also understands the importance of sometimes it’s important not to just forget. Very well handled and you should definitely be proud!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Rae
    Feb 02, 2016 @ 15:30:34

    Lys grandma is so proud of you and will always be for sure. Love you so much baby girl and misses you a lot beyond words.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Daniel
    Feb 02, 2016 @ 14:38:50

    So proud of our baby girl…as we take a lesson learned from her Godly example of grace.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Josh
    Feb 02, 2016 @ 09:24:50

    Classic Alyssa! She has always had a forgiving heart. Love her and so proud of all she has and will continue to do. Look how big she had gotten! 😢😢😢 lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Feel free to share your thoughts

The Buzz

  • 4,759 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 191 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Follow h2owalkerlife on WordPress.com
