My New Gig

img_0632As many of you have probably seen by now I have taken on a new title!  I am very excited and happy to announce that I am the newest contributing columnist to one of the nation’s recognized Latina American parenting and lifestyle sites, Mami of Multiples.  I will be offering advice, tips and resources on family-friendly topics like faith, family and home.  Please head on over and check it out–there are so many helpful resources.

So how did this all happen for me?  Well my story goes back to a couple of years ago when we were still living in VA.  Dan and I were driving to Virginia Beach which is quite a hike for us and trust me when I say, there was always traffic so we would end up talking about everything under the sun. You know those deep convos of sharing where you are in life, your dreams, your desires…well anyway that was what we did to help pass the time on the road.  I clearly remember sharing with him that I felt a bit consumed by the girls.  I didn’t have anything that said “Shivaulie!”  I wanted my own identity. I didn’t just want to be Dan’s wife,  Alyssa and Alaina’s mom at the time, I wanted to reach people and not just in my circle, I wanted to inspire/encourage others.  Now don’t get me wrong, I do love being a wife and a mommy but I knew “Shivaulie” needed her very own outlet too.  He asked me what is one thing that I would love to do but feel like I couldn’t do because it seemed way too big for me? I thought about it and seriously I didn’t even want to say it out loud because I knew he was going to make me accountable for it.  He quietly waited for my answer and I said, ” I would love to write a book one day!” Dan already knew I was going to say that but it’s something else when you hear yourself say it out loud, isn’t it?

We did what we always do, “Commit to the Lord whatever you do and He will establish your plans.” (Proverbs 16:3)  It wasn’t until February of last year that I decided to start blogging.  It didn’t matter to me how many people read it–I was so excited that I was I writing–I had my outlet!  It was an answered prayer. Then the messages came in on how I was that encouragement/inspiration to others through my posts.  Another answered prayer!  Well which brings me back to my recent gig: now a contributing columnist for such a well-known and reputable site, which means I will be reaching all sorts of people from all over the world–not just my circle!  Another answered prayer!

So here’s my question to you:  What is the one thing that you would love to do but feel like you can’t do because it seems too big for you? Say it out loud, hear yourself speak life into it, commit it to the Lord, and work towards it.

Connect with me:
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
Pinterest
Website

 

 

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thoughtful pennies
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 07:07:47

    Congratulations on your new gig! And thank you for sharing this encouraging post! God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. thetrendywife
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 21:59:08

    Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. DF
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 11:33:45

    So proud of you baby. Keep pursuing the dream!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Shirley Mahendranath
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 16:06:03

    Congratulations. I am so proud of you.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Rae
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 12:19:05

    Congrats Shivaulie! Words cannot express how proud I am of your achievements especially when you put God first in everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Josh
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 11:53:30

    Congrats Shivaulie! I am so proud of you! God’s timing is always the best timing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Feel free to share your thoughts

The Buzz

  • 5,187 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 191 other followers

Follow h2owalkerlife on WordPress.com
