Time For a Checkup (One Word)

Back in January I challenged myself and my readers to come up with One Word to work on this year.  The idea was instead of having a “to do” list of resolutions, we would focus in on One WordMy word was peaceful.
So  how am I doing with keeping in peace, having peaceful relationships, and being filled in His perfect peace when things don’t work out exactly as planned?  Let’s just say, I sure am glad we have nine more months in this year!
The very day I posted and declared to you that my word was peace, I remember cooking enchiladas for dinner.  It was super easy to do but in my midst of balancing cooking, homework, supervising bath time, answering questions thrown at me left and right–I set the glass dish on a very hot stove and before long–glass shattered–sauce spattered and tears welled up in my eyes due to the overwhelming glob of red sauce and cheese everywhere!  The girls were already complaining of being hungry, hubby was on his way home and I was on top of everything until our dinner collapsed.  I thought, “peace!” Here was my first chance at demonstrating peace. Dan walks in from work and his comment, “well if you wanted Chinese for dinner, just say so!”  We both laughed but choosing peace even though in a silly situation turned into a fun evening instead of me being stressed out.
In the last three months, I have been challenged to my breaking point.  There is no coincidence why my word is PEACE!  I have realized that choosing to have peace, means choosing to continue to trust  in God, to continue to depend on Him when all things don’t seem to make sense and to continue to be true to who He created me to be.(Be You) I have gone through betrayal, mistrust, hurt, anger, frustration but when my focus is on PEACE–I have been able to forgive, love, trust, enjoy the season I am in and show compassion to those that have wronged me.
I am a work in progress for sure and everyday it is a choice to make.  The verse I cling to is found in John 14:27–Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

So how is your One Word working out for you?  Is it harder than you thought?  Is it helping you in other areas of your life? Is it rubbing off on your family and/or friends?  Are you still honestly working on it?

Leave me a comment and let me know how you are doing?  Nine more months and we will be that much closer to our One Word!  As always, Be blessed!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Josh
    Mar 20, 2016 @ 02:50:41

    My word was “onward”–meaning to look forward, keep your eyes focused on Him and allow Him to guide you. Thankfully I can say that this year has been a year of “onward.” I have kept my eyes focused on Him and He has proven to me daily that He is a fair, just, loving (list can go on) God. Thank you for challenging me to choose one word to focus on this year! By choosing this one word I have become more in tuned with God and my life has been reflecting such change.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Mar 15, 2016 @ 14:41:22

    So glad that you are holding on to your one word and it is sure working for you. The Lord is always on our side. He said He will never leave us nor forsake us but he will be with us to the End. So far my one word is working out for me as well. I just, a few minutes ago,felt happy and excited over what I could not tell but I began to thank the Lord for His guidance in everything and for all His Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Feel free to share your thoughts

The Buzz

  • 5,056 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 190 other followers

Follow h2owalkerlife on WordPress.com
