Take a Closer Look

Let me say right off the bat–I did NOT want to write about this, much less, add the photo you see.  Uggh!  But I do try to keep things real on here so here we go.
Last year in April, I shared  with you all about my struggle in losing the baby weight.  I have a love for running and since we were moving from Virginia, I had signed back up to run a 10k (6.2 miles) that had kicked my butt the year before.(The Struggle is Real)
So the other day, a good friend of mine emailed me asking about that race and saying she saw a picture of me as I was running. I read on as my friend writes, “Oh the picture is part of a calendar and it’s all over Fairfax County offices and Rec Centers!” Umm..lets just say it’s not my most flattering picture and definitely one that I didn’t want circulating.
Healthystrides

When I first glanced at this picture all I could see was the baby weight I still needed to lose, my form falling apart, the runner ahead of me smiling from ear to ear,(I really don’t know what she’s smiling at, we still had like 2 more miles to go) me holding in my breath or maybe me struggling to catch my breath BUT take a closer looka picture is worth a thousand words, isn’t it?
See when I look at myself in this photograph, not just the outward appearance I tend to cringe at, I see on my face:  Determination, Focus, Endurance, Purpose drivenI would have much, much rather the moment captured with me in all smiles and two thumbs up as I gracefully jogged by the photographer. But that wasn’t my race.
So why did I choose to post a picture that I find unflattering?  Well it’s proof!
It’s proof to me and anyone reading, while I wasn’t looking my best in that particular moment– that moment is still defined in a way to push me to my next level.  This moment that I once cringed is a moment I can now be proud of.

What moment in your life have you cringed?
Have you come across your old photos, old videos or even memories where you think, uggh!  Take a closer look, remind yourself what you were fighting for, remind yourself of that goal, remind yourself of your focus–let that image propel you to your next level!

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Neven
    Apr 06, 2016 @ 20:00:22

    It’s amazing how a picture tells a thousand words! And yours tells exactly of what you described. I think it shows just how hard ya women have to work and the challenges we face. It’s so very brave of you to show it, describe it-and tell the story!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • h2owalkerlife
      Apr 06, 2016 @ 20:49:09

      Thanks Neven! It certainly isn’t easy most days but keeping focus even when you aren’t quite there yet is still part of the journey and that’s just as important as the destination!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Josh
    Apr 06, 2016 @ 15:57:24

    Hahahah. When I saw this post I was shocked you posted this picture because I knew you hated it, but way to look at the positive and keep in mind how far your determination has taken you. You are and have been a true inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Kim Jones Turner
    Apr 06, 2016 @ 14:58:26

    Oh Shivaulie! I love it!!!! I do see determination, focus, deliberate and a great role model for women and children. Just think……”I did it!” What an inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Feel free to share your thoughts

The Buzz

  • 4,759 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 191 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Follow h2owalkerlife on WordPress.com
