Mommy, Mommy, Mamaaaa…

Do you remember when your little tiny baby would melt your heart with those huge smiles as you cuddled up to their chubby little faces and looked into their big bright eyes, saying to them, “maaaamaaa!”   You can say it, “maaamaaa!”  Well today happens to be one of those days where I wish I could change my name to maybe dada–they never really seem to scream out that one too often.  All I hear today is shrieks of “mommy, mommy” and a tiny voice from the one year old, “mama!”  All needing me right now! There immediate need is more important than  the other and I finally answer the one year old to hear her say with the biggest grin on her face, “hi mama!”
Tired and exhausted I think back to those days when as moms we just can’t wait for them to sit up, we can’t wait for them to crawl, we can’t wait for them to walk, we can’t wait for them to speak, we can’t wait for them to potty, we JUST can’t wait for them to get to the next level.
But as I take a break to blog/reflect and ignore the hundreds of requests that are coming out of their mouths even as I try to write this–I know I will miss these days when they get older.  I know that time doesn’t slow down. I know that every day that goes by is one more day closer to where they are learning how to be more independent, I know that each moment I pour into them helps them become more of who they will be, I know that every question I answer is another opportunity for me to teach or instill a lesson, and I KNOW one day may come when I might miss hearing them yell, “mommy, mommy, mamaaaa!”

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily Bresin
    Jul 26, 2016 @ 15:16:18

    Being a mama is wonderful. But sometimes it is so hard to be needed all the time. There are moments when my daughter is crying for me and I think, “not now!” It’s not easy to put your own needs aside for someone else, but we keep doing it, because that’s what parenting is. And I love that scene from family guy!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. John
    Jul 15, 2016 @ 19:41:41

    Think how frustrating it is for them. They spend all that time and energy learning to walk and talk so that we can tell them to sit down and be quiet. With both of my kids out of the house I do miss the noise sometimes. I miss seeing my daughter come through the door with all of her books and hockey gear, and I miss scouts with my son. I hope some day I get to see them go through the same things with their own kids. Good times ahead for sure. Great post and I look forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • h2owalkerlife
      Jul 16, 2016 @ 08:44:01

      Thanks for stopping by! Definitely not taking these moments for granted as they soon come to an end much faster than we are ever ready for. But hey maybe you will have grandkids and the cycle starts over except you really get to spoil them! 😊

      Like

      Reply

  3. Kim Jones Turner
    Jul 15, 2016 @ 13:44:25

    Shivaulie, you will not have to worry about ot hearing “Mama, Mommy, Mommy”. When they get older the “Mamma and Mommy” changes to “Hey MA! MA!!!!!” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Rae
    Jul 14, 2016 @ 14:31:59

    Well well, from experience you better cherish those Mamas….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Feel free to share your thoughts

The Buzz

  • 4,759 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 191 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Follow h2owalkerlife on WordPress.com
