I Now Come With Experience…

Ok so I haven’t been consistently blogging like my usual self these past few weeks.  The girls are out of school and to my surprise that really turned my schedule upside down.  I love having the freedom of not chauffeuring them back and forth and I do love the spontaneity of summer where we can stay up a bit later, sleep in a little longer, and I enjoy that we are still scoping out new places in Florida we haven’t been to before.

BUT in the midst of all this–looks like my baby wants to grow up way faster than I’m ready (cough) prepared for.  She is doing a number on me these past few weeks.  We have a 21 month old who thinks she is as old as our 9 year old.  She oooh’s and ahh’s at the other one year olds and calls them, “baby!”  She refuses to sit in her high chair and made herself comfortable at the dining table now. I can no longer  feed her any of her food and I dare not forget to leave a spoon because even finger foods she will try to maneuver with a utensil. She is officially the Manners Police at our house. She will repeat “thank you” several times until you say “you are welcome.”  Hugs and kisses are currently a thing of the past as she quickly says to her mama, “eeew goooo” (eew gross) when I sneak some kisses and snuggles in. Of course she is a chatter box (a complete unanswered prayer as I secretly prayed just one of them would be a little on the quieter side). She totally thinks we get what she is saying as she makes her requests of what she wants.  “Nooo and taaappp ” (stop) are her new favorite words.  She completely believes by shooting me a smile will make all well and I will not discipline her.

So what does all this sum up to for me:  I’ve got an almost 2 year old on my hands!

But what Aliyah doesn’t realize is I now come with experience!  She may think in her little mind that she has gotten me beat as she sees my frustration, tired eyes, my hair frazzled from running around the room to try and get her into the car and putting on her shoes for probably the 5th time around only to have to put it right back on as we arrive at our destination. Nope not this time…this isn’t my first rodeo, Aliyah!

So how will I turn this stage around? Be thankful!  Thankful that I have an independent little girl who knows what she wants, thankful that I have experience, thankful, really, really thankful that this won’t last forever, thankful that I get to teach her what’s right and what’s wrong, thankful that she is expressive, thankful that she is persistent, thankful that she is opinionated, thankful that she shows leadership…simply thankful for a happy, healthy, normal, baby little girl!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie Watson
    Jun 24, 2016 @ 20:14:40

    Your daughter is adorable! It is true that with experience and age comes parenting wisdom. I found your blog through Mami of Multiples and giveaway.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Josh
    Jun 22, 2016 @ 16:23:33

    Haha. Too cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Rae
    Jun 22, 2016 @ 14:34:12

    Thanks for being thankful. Enjoy it while it lasts!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Feel free to share your thoughts

The Buzz

  • 7,160 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 203 other subscribers

Top Posts & Pages

Follow h2owalkerlife on WordPress.com